Enhance your membership by becoming active in society leadership. Members interested in serving on an AAS committee are encouraged to submit a committee interest form.

Bylaws and Policies & Procedures Committee

Charge: To annually review and revise (as needed) the AAS Bylaws and the Policies and Procedures documents.

Chair: President (2023: Francis Kuk)

Committee Members:
President-Elect (2023: Lisa Hunter)
Past-President (2023: Rene Gifford)
Executive Director (Darla Eastlack)

Communications Committee

Charge: The communications committee is charged with handling issues and advising the Board of Directors about items related to the Society’s communications, including the website, its listserv, publications and social media presence.

O'neil Guthrie (Audiology)

Committee Members:
Anna Diedesch (Audiology)
Dave Fabry (Industry)
Rachael Holt (Hearing Science)
Wafaa Kaf
Vishakha Rawool (Audiology)

Diversity Committee

Charge: The diversity committee will promote inclusion and leadership of under-represented minorities in the AAS, and bring any identified diversity issues to the AAS Board.

Jessica Sullivan (Audiology)

Committee Members:
Mo Eric Cui, 2024-2026 (Hearing Science)
Rene Gifford, 2018-2020, 2021-2023 (Hearing Science)
O'neil Guthrie, 2020-2022 (Audiology)
Avril Holt, 2018-2020, 2021-2023 (Hearing Science)
Hua Ou, 2022-2024 (Hearing Science)
Douglas Sladen, 2021-2023 (Audiology)
Keerthana Velappan, 2020-2022 (Audiology)

Finance Committee

Charge: The finance committee is chaired by the Society Treasurer.  The committee assists the treasurer in preparing the annual budget and in other finance related issues such as investments and monitoring reserves.

Chair: Jason Galster (Industry)

Committee Members:
Rene Gifford (Hearing Science)
O'neil Guthrie (Audiology)
Lisa Hunter (Audiology)
Francis Kuk (Industry)

Fundraising Committee

ChargeTo form and maintain an inclusive fund-raising committee. To establish and achieve annual fund-raising goals. To liaise with the Board of Directors and other AAS committees to develop fund-raising strategies for activities prioritized by the committees and the board. To raise funds for activities prioritized by AAS committees and the Board of Directors.

Chair: Dave Fabry (Industry)

Committee Members:
Sumit Dhar (Audiology)
Jason Galster (Industry)

Grant Committee

Charge: The Grant Committee will review all AAS activity relevant to the NIH-NIDCD R13 Conference grant and advise the Board in these matters. This committee will prepare and submit a R15 grant renewal prior to the end of the current grant’s funding period.

Rafael Delgado (Industry)

Committee Members:
Linda Hood (Audiology)

Beth Prieve (Audiology)

Membership Committee

Charge: Create and implement a membership plan to retain current and recruit new members.  The committee will identify and monitor existing AAS products, services, programs and benefits, evaluate membership surveys, explore new benefits and make recommendations to the Board.   Assist in analysis and evaluation of member data with annual report to the board. Lead efforts to contact lapsed and prospective members. The committee also reviews all new member applications.

Shilpi Banerjee (Industry)

Committee Members:
Anna Diedesch, 2020-2022 (Audiology)
David Friedmann
Carrie Nieman, 2020-2022 (Otolaryngology)
Krishna Rodemerk, 2018-2019 (Industry)
Kevin Seitz-Paquette, 2020-2022 (Audiology)
Heather Weinreich (Otolaryngology)

Publications Committee

Charge: The publications committee is charged with reviewing proposals and contracting for publication of the Ear and Hearing Journal and with managing issues specifically related to the journal.  The Pubs committee is responsible to review candidates for editor in chief and conduct the review process with the BOD. The Pubs committee is also responsible for annual written review of the Editor in Chief and for making recommendation regarding the editor’s stipend.

Ryan McCreery (Audiology)

Committee Members:
Aaron Moberly (Otolaryngology)
Srikanta Mishra

Student and Mentoring Committee

Charge: The Student and Mentoring Committee will advise on all issues relevant to the student/resident membership of AAS.

Lisa Hunter (Audiology)

Committee Members:
Adam Bosen, 2020-2024 (Hearing Science)
Laura Dreisbach Hawe, 2020-2024 (Hearing Science)
Angela Garinis, 2022-2024
Steven Gianakas, 2022-2024
Tina Grieco-Calub, 2018-2024 (Hearing Science)
Lina Motlagh-Zadeh, 2020-2024
Meredith Spratford, 2022-2026
Kristina Ward, 2020-2024
Li Yang, 2020-2024